The chapel devoted to Saint James at Brändö is a wooden church. The chapel has a rich history but in its present state it was inaugurated only in 1893. The white painted church has a cross plan. It was firbst mentioned in 1544 when Gustavus Vasa confiscated a copper bell, but an old altarpiece was mentioned in 1631. It is still the most outstanding inventory of the church, purchased some 550 years ago.
Föglö church differs in the exterior from most other Åland churches, depending on an almost total rebuilding around 1860. Today we see a church with a cross shaped plan and neo gothic details, erected in gray granite. Of the medieval church only the tower and the western part of the nave remains.